Rachael Adams – Another Holiday, Another Country

another country

Even though I didn’t have a traditional Thanksgiving last week, I had so many things to be thankful for. It seems that each Holiday I find myself in a new country and place – Easter 2012: Berlin, Germany. Christmas 2012: Istanbul, Turkey. Halloween 2013: Kazan, Russia. Thanksgiving 2013: Zurich, Switzerland. But I did get to celebrate Thanksgiving last year in Bydgoszcz, Poland with my favorite American family.

bye

By now I am used to not spending a traditional Thanksgiving at home with my family in Cincinnati, Ohio. Since I chose to go to The University of Texas, which was 17 hours away from my hometown, I never had a chance or the time, to go back home and celebrate with my family. We were always in season during this time and had training the following day, so some of my family would come down and visit me and celebrate wherever I was. Usually our team would get together with our families, have a meal, and watch Texas football. it was different and unique all fours years, but I always appreciated each attempt at a normal Thanksgiving and was thankful to be surrounded by good people and company.

After our match in Zurich last week we came back to the hotel and had dinner. As much as I wanted a typical fat Thanksgiving like every other American, I couldn’t.

My social media was filled with plates and plates of good looking food. I wanted to eat my phone.

tumblr_mdoy6hmLsb1ro2d43

photo 1

photo 2

photo 3

photo 4

As good as all this food looks I could have settled on just have a warm slice of apple pie with vanilla ice cream on the side and would gave been a happy camper.

photo 5

And to my surprise, after dinner the host asked if we wanted to wait 10 minutes for apple pie to be finished baking. UHHH, YES! That wasn’t even a question. A lot of my teammates were tired and didn’t want to wait, but three of us stayed behind and waited.

It wasn’t exactly what I expected, but I was happy when it was finally ready and it was good enough for me.

tumblr_inline_mutoeqMlpa1rhignx

apple pie

It was warm, had cinnamon, apples, and cold ice cream on the side so I was more than happy to eat it.

IMG_2083

tumblr_mdwb0vAEAR1rtc5bq

As much as I love eating all the great food on Thanksgiving I love being surrounded by my family even more, so of course I was missing them back home. BUT they surprised me with these awesome pictures and held a picture with them all and sent them to me. I definitely had a moment.

My little cousin even wrote in Polish! So cute.

photo 2

photo 3

In volleyball related news, we had a match last night, but this time here in Dabrowa, against Volero Zurich at 8:30pm. It was a hard fought 5 set match, but Volero took home the win after 2hrs and 30 minutes.

Thank you to all the fans that stayed out past 11pm on a Wednesday night to cheer on our team and to the ones that watched online or on TV. If you didn’t watch you can still watch so don’t worry.

[ale_button url=”http://www.laola1.tv/en-int/video/tauron-mks-dabrowa-gornicza-volero-zurich/146802.html” style=”light-blue” size=”large” type=”round” target=”_self”] FULL MATCH [/ale_button]

It was an important match for our standings in our pool. Here is were the standings before last nights match:

Screen Shot 2013-12-05 at 8.56.12 AM

But the team is getting better each day so that is all that matters right now and I’m proud of the way we fought and worked together last night.

tumblr_mdweamX4B31rtc5bq

signature

Connect with me:tumblr_lrc3a6W4RU1qfdwsio1_250
Contact me / Twitter / Facebook / Instagram

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

