Erik Shoji: Advice for Fueling Through the Season

Erik Shoji, USA Men’s Volleyball National Team member and currently playing in Innsbruck, Austria, gave us some insight as to how he stays fueled throughout the long season overseas:

erik 2

“In volleyball I am always telling myself to go back to basics. To trust my skills that I’ve practiced for so long. Being overseas can be really hard. Its a long season and most people are by themselves. It can be hard to stay motivated and to fuel yourself for 8 months. I find motivation in the basics of my life. My family and friends always motivate me and keep my head in it. Also, you have to set goals to get through the season. You need small and big goals to keep yourself focused on volleyball and on the season. I think remembering my goals and finding inspiration in my family and friends is what gets me through the season.”

Thanks, Erik! For everyone overseas, we hope this helps you!

erik

Erik Shoji
Features on our blog

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

