Daniel Jansen VanDoorn: 5 Things I Can’t Travel Without

Daniel Jansen VanDoorn is a Canadian native who has traveled a lot for his professional volleyball career. Because of his experience overseas he has made a set list of items that he has to travel with in order to make his life a little easier across the ocean in France.

1. My computer. Packed with movies, games, apps, pictures, etc., I spend hours a day on it. Whether actually travelling or sitting on the couch waiting for the next practice to start, I spend a lot of the free time I have in my profession (which is a LOT) on my computer.

2. My Magic Bullet. While it was tough to take as it took up more than 1 kg of the 23 kg’s I was allowed in my suitcase, I had to take my magic bullet and a few glasses. Nothing better after a workout than a custom made shake with all the seasonal fruits, berries, juices and a protein powder in it.

3. My headphones. I listen to a lot of music while I’m on the go, and its important to have a quality pair of speakers to do that with.

4. A good book. Like I said, we have a lot of free time doing what we do, and you get really good at passing it. I came to France with a few different books, and luckily haven’t run out just yet. What book am I reading right now? “The Book Thief” by Marcus Zusak

5. Guidelines/a plan. While it is obviously essential to a trip, I can’t have things planned out too meticulously. When I arrived here I only had 2 meetings in the first 5 days, which was perfect. I had ample time to wander and explore my new home, which I couldn’t have done with a well organized plan.

daniel

Daniel Jansen VanDoorn

Features on our blog

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

