Miranda Ayim: Top Tunes in Turkey

Since I spend most of my year in the beautiful country of Turkey, it only makes sense to write a post dedicated solely to Turkish music artists. I will admit, it took me a while to get used to the Turkish style, but once I did, I started enjoying a lot of the music. There is the more traditional style of Turkish singing, which includes a lot of reverberating in the voice. Most Westerners find this slightly unusual and dramatic, but it’s an essential part of what traditionally makes a great singer in Turkey. There is a newer style of Turkish music, as well, which was integrated after the fall of the Ottoman Empire and has been developing and expanding over the years. This style is essentially the same as varying Western music styles, but in Turkish. I’ve selected three of my favorite Turkish songs from different genres to share with you…


I had the privilege of seeing Gökhan Türkmen in concert when he came to Ordu. I wasn’t sure how I was going to enjoy a concert entirely in Turkish, but it was great performance! His music has undertones of funk and great bass lines, which is what draws me to his band.


Gripin is an alternative rock band that I’ve heard over and over on the radio and on Kral Pop and Number Ones (two of the TV music channels here). The song has that mellow and dramatic feel that always leads to a powerful chorus.


This song has the catchiest whistle bridge that I’ve heard since Flo Rida’s “Whistle.” Trust me, you’ll be whistling after you listen to it. Plus, the music video has some great shots of Istanbul as the cameras follow the artist, Yalın, driving along the Bosphorus.

Hope you enjoyed your brief musical tour of Turkey!

i6pbxuf4azgd4pttz53u
Miranda Ayim
www.mirandaayim.com
Features on our blog

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

