AJ Nally: 3 Things I Wish I Knew Before Going Overseas

1. Anything…haha… I was facebooking random players for any clue. From a small DIII college, I knew zero of what was expected, the level of play or the cultural expectations. I was the first of all my friends to venture out for such a large period of time too, and that’s why Athletes Abroad is a great idea in my mind.

2. Professional Work Ethic… College is pretty straight forward in terms of effort and expectations. Europe involves an interesting mix of young talents and working veterans, so it was difficult to make my own work out, social and meal plans. My first year, in retrospect, seemed wasted because I didn’t know what I was capable of doing and to what level. Luckily I ran into a great fitness coach my 2nd year that ‘hit me upside the head’.

3. Nothing…? So much self discovery happens when you’re put to the test, with odds against you or in my case, 4,000 miles away for the first time, in a hotel for the first 2 months and trying to transfer a hobby into a job.

Screen Shot 2014-02-06 at 4.47.18 PM

AJ Nally
AJ Nally (USA)
Features on our blog

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

