How do I pack to play overseas for 9 months?

Typing up an exact list for what to pack when playing overseas is extremely hard, so we decided to share advice and tips passed down from other athletes playing abroad along with things they wish they would have known before taking the big leap in hopes to give you more insight to make the big pack easier and lighter.

It’s hard not to overpack when having to pack up your whole life in less than three suitcases, for 9 months, for life in a foreign country, and for a situation you don’t know much about. As a result, you try to be prepared for every possible situation, leaving you packing waymore than you need.

Everyone has done it and is bound to do it again. When in doubt, pack light (aka two checked suitcases, a carry on rolly, and carry on back pack – all making the weight cutoff) . You don’t realize it now, but you will use about 40% of the things you pack in your suitcase the first time you go overseas.

Remember, what you bring with you will have to come back with you, unless you’re ok leaving it behind. Oh, and don’t forget that the new place you will be living will also have clothes, cute shoes, new trends, and items that you will want to buy. Hello, overweight fees of $100+ dollars on the way back home after 9 months.

984148_10202449187497699_263373979426663352_n

“What to pack. I feel like my first season overseas I over packed and brought things that I thought would be useful, but never used. Over the last three seasons I have been able to adapt my packing to better fit where I am playing and what I will truly use.” Sabel Moffet

“I wish I knew that half of the clothes I brought wouldn’t be worn, especially since I spent so much money on bags that were overweight.” Monique Mead

“No matter how many times you pack up your life in 2 suitcases for 9 months it never gets easier. And the coming back after accumulating more junk, is always harder. Just accept this fact and the breakdown that comes with it each time.” Sarah Ammerman 

” The things I will do differently, Pack only what I NEED.  I’m tired of carrying heavy bags! ( This WILL be a hard task to accomplish, but I CAN DO IT!)” Kimika Rozier

“I wish I would have thought to bring little everyday things that we overlook as important when we are home, but here they would be luxuries. My packing skills are going to have to improve a lot haha.” Tabi Love 

“What you pack can really make all the difference! I definitely improved my packing skills for overseas season #2” Evangella Sanders

Planning ahead tips:

Pack less if you know you are going home for Christmas (when you go home for Christmas bring back things that you don’t use or wear to make your big pack back home after 8 months much an easier and lighter one)

Pack less if you know you will have a visitor from home that can bring with them things that you left behind and desperately want and need later (not sure if you need that extra 20 socks? Have your sister bring them with her when she visits)

NORMAL CLOTHES

If you have not played for the team before it’s hard to know exactly what you will need and unfortunately it depends on many different and unknown factors – Does your team go out a lot? Will it be a harsh winter? Does your city have a lot of places to venture off to? Do you like dressing up to go into down? Do you live in a larger or smaller city? Will you be spending half your time sitting around in your apartment? Will your team have dressy sponsor events? Some questions to ask yourself: When you’re back home, do you dress up to go out to simple places (grocery store, Starbucks)? Like to do a lot of social dinners and lunches? If you’re not that type of person, chances are you probably won’t be that type of person overseas and will want to stick to your sweats and yoga pants when roaming the town. Again, no one likes luggage fees so be logical when it comes to packing “normal clothes”

  • Jeans
  • Shirts
  • Scarves
  • Boots
  • Winter jacket
  • Shoes (it is hard to find large shoes sizes in normal stores)
  • Tights
  • Swimsuit (a lot of teams have sauna time)

Remember: You will and can buy clothes in your new city.

ATHLETIC CLOTHES

It’s frustrating, but it’s not always guaranteed that your team will give you specific gear to practice in so it’s typically a gamble on if you should bring your own training shirts/spandex or leave it all back at home. You may be in a situation where your team gives you socks, kneepads, travel gear, coats, etc because of their sponsorship or you may be left with the bare minimum and receive just a jersey.

  • Socks
  • Shoes / back up shoes
  • Warm sweatshirt
  • Flipflops
  • Compression pants
  • Workout shoes
  • Sport shoes
  • Back up court shoes (buying shoes, especially popular brands like Nike in a country besides America is very expensive)

What the athletes are saying:

  • “Chuck Taylor’s: Europe’s fashion rules are intrusive on a small vacation. Chucks allow you to fit into a lot more establishments than ‘tennis shoes’ and they fold up nicely haha” Aj Nally
  • “Two pairs of court shoes, one cross training shoe, one walk-around shoe – So maybe four pairs of sneaks are a little over the top, but lets be honest, you’ll use them the most. I’ve always been hard on my shoes, and with Europe having the LONGEST seasons ever, I go through two pairs EASILY. Really I should probably bring a third, but those worn ones are just so comfortable.” Mandy Bible
  • “That dryers are not a common thing over in Europe. This would have changed my packing list slightly to include more training tops and sports bras and less “going-out” clothes! Having to wait a couple days for laundry to dry made it tough with only 6 training shirts when we had 2 practices every day for most of the season in Spain. ” Whitney Phillips
  • “I only needed about 10 t-shirts to rotate for the week. This isn’t college and I don’t go through three a day nor do we have required colors (1 workout, 2 for practice…I was/am the sweaty kid).” Kayla Jeter
  • “Most places don’t have dryers…so get ready for crunchy socks” Diane Copenhagen
  • “You can buy clothes once you are out there.  You don’t have to bring every piece of clothing you own.  Plus, you end up wearing workout clothes 90% of the time. Bring lots of books!  You will have a ton of down time.” Emily Day
  • “Compression Pants- when traveling over 10 hours sometimes to games, the little things can come in handy and help recovery time.” Sabel Moffet
  • “A hoodie (having a hood on just makes me feel more comfortable/relaxed when I travel alone)” Monique Mead
  • “Less clothing, more food! The club you play for will give you all kinds of gear when you get there and let’s be honest, did I really need to bring 15 t-shirts with me? I don’t think so.” Kayla Banworth

BATHROOM

Each country is different so reach so it’s always a gamble when playing in a new country when it comes to knowing which of your favorite products they will have or which products and brands are not apart of their culture. For example: In Europe, aerosol deodorant sprays are really popular and it is hard to come across a stick deodorant. If you have hair care or skin care products that are on the fancy side, stock up and bring them with you. If you live and die by this product, bring it. 

  • Toothbrush
  • Fancy hair and skin care products
  • Nail polish
  • Glasses/contacts
  • Robe
  • Blowdryer/flat iron [Advice: buy a cheap version in the country you will be playing in. Unless you want to deal with figuring out the right adapter or risk the chance of your expensive blowdryer/flat iron shorting out, then just go with the home countries appliances that already have the right outlet]
  • Face wash / face scrub
  • Shampoo / conditioner
  • Makeup
  • Hair ties
  • Headbands
  • Lotion
  • Chapstick
  • Foundation / makeup

What the athletes are saying 

  • “Good lotion. Cold European winters aren’t easy on the bod. Dry skin and staticky hair are par for the course overseas. I always pack stockpiles of cocoa butter and Rosebud salve to combat cracking volleyball fingers, ailing cuticles, and assorted dry patches.” Kate and Andy Hein  

 

BEDROOM

Every apartment you will live in is different. Sometimes your team will buy you rugs and cute bed spreads and sometimes they won’t. So bring some things that are small and make you feel like home. 

  • Pictures and frames
  • Pillow case from home (read How to Make Your Foreign Apartment Feel Like Home)
  • Sheets: If you know how big your bed is then bring soft sheets from home
  • Towel: Some countries don’t make towels as soft as they do in America
  • Blanky: No one is judging you
  • Warm house slippers

What the athletes are saying:

  • “My mom made flannel pillowcases for Kyle and I and we always take them with us. It may seem a little funny but to me its a little piece of home that I can depend on no matter what the situation is or where I have to stay initially. “ Sonja Newcomb”
  • “(1) A pillow pet cow from Maggie Griffin. We played together in Holland and for Carnival she dressed up as a cow and I was a pig. For my birthday she got me one, so its like I am bringing here with me! (2) My USC blanket. I have had it for years and it just brings a little bit of home to wherever I am.” Diane Copenhagen

FOOD

This is always a tricky one. You can never assume that a certain city or countries grocery store will carry your favorite foods or even the most simplest of ingredients. This is another gamble, so bring things that make you happy.

  • Hot sauce
  • Spice bottles [spice up your boring chicken and veggies]
  • Peanut butter [hard to come by and if you do find it, be ready to cough up some money]
  • Protein powder (“Yes, I know its silly to carry protein powder with you in your suitcase but for me I use it everyday so its a necessity. I use it after workouts to help recover and to help rebuild the muscle. As an athlete it is very important that you are getting enough protein in your diet. While living over seas you might encounter types of proteins that you might not like, so its important to have that extra fuel source.”)
  • Box of pancake mix
  • Microwavable easy mac containers
  • Starbucks VIA ( Yes other countries have coffee but bring a few packets because you might just miss your simple flavors from home)
  • Pancake mix (You’ll want to make a fat American breakfast once in a while)
  • Brownie Mix (Who doesn’t crave brownies?)

What the athletes are saying:

  • “The food can be very different overseas.  Things like peanut butter, brown sugar, candy canes and other easy to access American foods are not available or are very expensive (for example, 5 Sfr for one candy cane!)  Instead of cramming my bag with shoes and clothes that some of which I still have yet to wear, I wish I knew to pack some American goodies to satisfy those cravings. ” Rachel Krabacher
  • “My best advice to making thru 9-10 months of jumping is to keep your weight down as much as possible. Muscles are great, but jumping over and over again for a decade you need to control your weight more than anything. Gaining 2 lbs per year is no big deal but after 10 years it turns into 20 lbs excess you know? Also, I am really into whole grains, olive oil, dark chocolate and almonds for inflammation, and any supplement ever made for joints. ” Reese McNatt
  • “Taco seasoning, Kyle and I love our mexican food and we really miss tacos when we are abroad so we bring lots of taco seasoning packets for the season so that we can cook them wherever we are. Vitamins, depending on where you play lots of fresh food may not always be avaliable like I’m used to in California so this has become something that I have done this year to make sure that I stay healthy during a long season. “ Sonja Newcomb
  • “I guess I didn’t realize that Canada was one of the few places in the world the produced maple syrup, and I found myself craving it all the time in France! Some homemade cookies to freeze, canned pumpkin for Thanksgiving, baking powder and brown sugar were also hard to find foods I will be sure to pack along next time I head across the pond.” Colleen Ogilvie
  • “When I’m in Canada, I eat a lot of cottage cheese and yogurt for snacks, but we didn’t have those in Poitiers. Taking whey protein with me took away the stress while I was trying to find some alternative protein sources. It also saved me the stress of trying to find reliable information on reputable protein and supplement companies that batch test for banned substances in their products… in French (this requires considerably more vocabulary that Rosetta Stone gives you). Make sure to bring sealed containers to get you through airport security quickly. “ Colleen Ogilvie
  • “My Magic Bullet. While it was tough to take as it took up more than 1 kg of the 23 kg’s I was allowed in my suitcase, I had to take my magic bullet and a few glasses. Nothing better after a workout than a custom made shake with all the seasonal fruits, berries, juices and a protein powder in it.” Daniel Jansen VanDoorn
  • “I think it is critical that athletes are aware that there is a very good chance that the foods they are used to having will not be available while they are living abroad. This may seem obvious for the big things but even the tiniest things can’t be overlooked. Before getting to Poland I was used to eating a very strict diet that was easily accommodated in Canada/USA. Here it is much more difficult (especially with the language barrier) to follow the same routine. It is important to learn to be flexible and be willing to try new things. If you have specific requirements (i.e. vegan, gluten-free, etc.) it is by no means impossible, but it will require you being proactive to find places where these things are available.” Tabi Love
  • “Maintain a healthy diet. I try to eat a similar diet as I would if I were still at home in America. It is harder with the different options in every country but you can still find most fruits/vegetables.” Colleen Ward
  • “Be open-minded, get out and explore, immerse yourself in the culture. Learn your countries traditions, foods, and way of life. Although it may be easy to go for what you know, try not to go straight to the “foreign foods” aisle in the grocery store, try their brands. Use your teammates as resources. Don’t forget, YOU’RE the foreigner.” Kala Jeter
  • “Try to eat as healthy and clean as often as you can! You’ll be trying new things left and right but the stuff that is going to help you through the tough times in the long run is your healthy foods (minus a snickers before every match for me). Money might be tight but the feeling is worth it.” Kristin Carpenter
  • “Especially when you first arrive in your new home it’s gonna be a struggle figuring out what to eat, where to get food, what’s safe to eat and what’s unsafe. So bring a lot of food not only to get you started in your new country, but enough to keep you sane whenever you’re feeling homesick and craving American food.” Kayla Banworth

KITCHEN

Sometimes your team will provide you with a few starter pans, cups, bowls, and silverware and you will have to go from there. You’ll be cooking all your meals at home and by yourself and to make things easier you might want to bring a few things to make your time in the kitchen a little bit easier and smoother.

  • Measuring cups [nothing is more annoying than trying to measure an american recipe that uses ounces, cups, quarts, gallons with a European or another countries grams, kilograms and liters measuring cups.
  • Rubber spatchula
  • Start saving your favorite recipes and bookmarking delicious looking recipes online so that they are handy the next time you’re looking to change up your boring meal
  • Brita Filterer

What the athletes are saying 

  • “The water situation. I now bring a Brita filter with me whenever I travel, wherever I play. In France my team drank mineral water that had more calcium in it than milk does. Just because water is bottled doesn’t mean its pure or what you are used to from home. This has been an interesting adjustment in each place that I have played.” Sonja Newcomb
     

HOBBY AND TOOLS

Although we recommend you getting out of the apartment and venture your new city, there will be days that you won’t want to, so instead of constantly binge watching seasons of TV shows we suggest you find a hobby.

  • Knitting
  • Sudoku
  • Coloring
  • Language books (invest in learning a new language)
  • Journaling
  • Blogging
  • Reading

What the athletes are saying

  • “Discover a hobby and bring it with you!  You don’t have many full days off to travel and sightsee, so take advantage of these when you can.  Even on days with two a days you will have so much time in between and after practices with nothing to do—you will get bored.  Find a hobby that interests you be it painting, drawing, knitting, music and bring the supplies with you.  They get expensive overseas!” – Rachel Krabacher
  • “Find a hobby, crochet, knit, read, blog, do puzzles, watch every tv series known to man. Whatever it is find something to occupy your down time because there is a lot and with time changes talking to friends and family back home isn’t always available during the day. “ Sonja Newcomb
  • “I was lucky because this year I was given an online license for the Rosetta Stone TotalE program in French which turned out to be a huge help! I also had picked up some grammar books. I made a point of studying a little French each night and practicing my French with my teammates on road trips. By November, I was able to communicate some of my more basic thoughts with the coffee lady, the baker, my coach, and my teammates.” Colleen Ogilvie
  • “Its a great time to read a lot of books, learn e new language, learn how to cook and hopefully cook the traditional plates of the country you live in. Socialize with your teammates, make new friends outside of the gym, many fans would love to hang out for a coffee, great way of learning about the current culture, language and exploring the city or the country. Every day off, don’t spend it sleeping or internet, get out, travel, take a train, buss etc..” Donnie Suxho
  • “Find a hobby that will keep you busy in your free time… there is a lot of it! Online classes, books, sightseeing, scrapbooking your adventures… it is important to find something that you enjoy doing to keep your mind busy.” Sarah Pavan

ELECTRONICS AND ENTERTAINMENT

Before you go, know that programs like Hulu, Netflix, Pandora, and ABC.com do not work overseas, so finding ways around that and to your favorite shows is important. You can download from iTunes, buy a device like slingbox, apple TV, and Roku or sign up and pay for an awesome website called unlocator.com (read our article: Entertainment in Overseas Apartment) All options are different and need to be researched before purchased. 

  • Adapters and converters (Learn which electronics need an adapter and which ones need a converter. And learn the difference between the two. Blowing up expensive electronics while overseas is not a good feeling.)
  • Headphones/speakers
  • Kindle (instead of carrying around pounds and pounds of books that you will end up leaving behind in another country)
  • Computer
  • HDMI cord (if you have a HD TV in your apartment it is nice to be able to hook what you’re watching on your computer to your TV)
  • Chargers
  • Projector (one of the best things you will bring overseas with you)

What the athletes are saying 

  • “For me this year my projector and slingbox have been essential. Playing in Russia I am spending a lot of time inside my apartment because the weather is so cold. This means lots of movies, tv and video games (mostly for Kyle but I do play Monopoly with him). Slingbox connects to the DVR at his parents home and we can watch their cable over the internet on our computer here in Russia. Its AMAZING! Check it our if you dont know what it is. “ Sonja Newcomb
  • “Fun fact: Even if you use a 120-240 V USA to European electrical adapter, plugging in your North American hair straightener into an outlet in France will turn it into a pool of hot plastic. Who knew? I have resolved this issue with a new hair straightener with a built-in voltage adapter that works on both continents!” Colleen Ogilvie
  • ” Kindle: No matter the length of the trip, purpose or location, a juiced up Kindle with a couple books will get you to a happy place real fast!” AJ Nally
  • “My headphones. I listen to a lot of music while I’m on the go, and its important to have a quality pair of speakers to do that with. A good book. Like I said, we have a lot of free time doing what we do, and you get really good at passing it. I came to France with a few different books, and luckily haven’t run out just yet. What book am I reading right now? “The Book Thief” by Marcus Zusak” Daniel Jansen VanDoorn
  • “WiFi is not always available. Prepare yourself for not being able to communicate with friends from home 24/7. It took me over a month in Italy to have WiFi installed at my apartment.” Colleen Ward
  • “Books take up way too much space, especially since I get too attached to them to be able to leave them behind. Get a Kindle or some type of e-reader!” Sarah Pavan
  • “Slingbox and our projector. As much as I hate to admit it, having access to network shows from home and more importantly, professional sports games, is a lifesaver. As the weekend winds down, I can’t think of a better way to spend my Sunday evening than watching the Minnesota Vikings disappoint on the big screen in our living room.” Kate and Andy Hein  

HEALTHY AND BODY

Like everything else, you don’t know what to expect. Your facilities may be top notch or you may find yourself fending your your life to keep your body in one piece. It’s nice to keep things like foam rollers and trigger points balls back at your apartment so you can take care of the little things when you are at home and during a day off. They will become your best friends.

If you get sick a lot, bring your favorite cold medicines. Nothing is more annoying than walking up and down a foreign pharmacy trying to find the right cold medicine and attempting to speak another language using medical terms to a pharmacist. Just bring your own.

  • Foam roller
  • Trigger point balls
  • Stretch ropes
  • Shoulder bands
  • Cough drops
  • Neosporin
  • Ice packs
  • Old workout plans
  • Yoga mat
  • Bandaids

What the athletes are saying

  • “In some countries, you will not have your own trainer so I stretch…..A LOT. I have to to prevent injuries so I look on YouTube and learn how to do certain stretches. I learned how to tape my own ankles and thumb. Stay healthy. I’m not saying that you have to eat healthy because some athletes just don’t eat healthy. I mean, Lamar Odom has to have his sweets. Try to be as healthy as you can. FIND YOUR NEAREST MASSEUSE….you’re welcome.” Chantel Hilliard
  • “I was to arrive in France just a few days before my first league game, and I knew jetlag would be an issue. I try not to use it too often, but melatonin really helped me overcome the jetlag moving from Canada to France.” Colleen Ogilvie
  • “(1) Tape, pre-wrap, band aids, Neosporin – Basically you’re own little med kit. These are just some of the things I use the most, and although you can find it in Europe and your team should have it too, I just find it more convenient and cheaper to always have it with me. (2) The first season I was in Europe and realized there was NO ICE (the horror), I immediately asked my Dad to send some ice packs. Being the above-and-beyond amazing Dad that he is, he sent my these ice packs that are supposed to simulate a bag of peas. Yes, peas. (3) These things didn’t exist in my college days, okay, maybe that’s not true. But they definitely were not in every training room across the US.  Nowadays it seems they are everywhere and after getting spoiled in the summertime, I had to find a way to get one of these body savers back to Europe. In comes the mini. A little over a foot long, this little roller easily fit in my checked luggage and although a little bulky did not take up much of my precious weight. Now rolling out is a breeze almost anywhere!” Mandy Bible
  • “Take advantage of the opportunity to rest. As former collegiate athletes we always want to go, there’s always SOMETHING we feel like we could be doing but that time is not now. 8 months is a long season on top of the 10+ years you’ve already played, your body will gladly welcome the chance to do nothing. Also, experiment with different foods, learn how your body reacts. Since living in Finland, Pinterest has really inspired me to change my diet to cleaner eating and even form a new weekly eating habit: Meatless Monday’s! I love that I finally have time to cook versus just grab whatever was in the dining hall or Chipotle. But don’t get me wrong, I do love me a good burrito bowl.” Kaya Jeter
  • “We are spoiled as North American athletes when it comes to training facilities, physical therapy, strength training, etc. Overseas, nothing will be what you expect it to be, so be adaptable and go with the flow. If you have no expectations, your experience will be much more enjoyable, and you may even pick up some things that you will continue to use when you get home.” Sarah Pavan
  • “Medications- (Nyquil/Dayquil/Imodium/Advil)-just the basics so in an emergency if get sick I have these on hand and know I can trust them.’ Sabel Moffet
  • “Drugs. Cold medicine in Europe just isn’t the same. And beating jet lag can be a real drag if attempted entirely unassisted. I always stock up on our go-tos (thank you, Costco) and have visitors refill as needed.” Kate and Andy Hein
  • “I brought over workouts I had from college to keep me in shape running wise, as well as stretch bands to keep my legs as fresh as possible” Jenna Hagguland 

 

What we wish we knew and what we can’t travel without

  • 5 things you can’t travel without: “Taco Bell Sauce Packets, Febreeze, Headphones, and Costco amounts of Ibuprofen” Reese McNatt
  • What I wish I knew: “The first piece of advice I would give to anyone is don’t overpack. I brought too many clothes that I never wear and not enough warm clothing for a Switzerland winter. (I’m from california what’s winter?) Also, I should have realized this after a tour in China, but ice isn’t used here like it is in the states (in my experience). Come prepared with instant cold packs or your own ice bag. I also wish I would have been more mentally prepared for a 9 month season complete with two practices a day. Keeping a journal and taking vitamins were essential in keeping me mentally and physically healthy for such a lengthy season. By now most athletes know what their bodies need to perform physically, but keeping some sort of journal or writing down daily activities, thoughts, even a “too blessed to be stressed” list each day keeps your mind right and free of negativity.” Kayla Neto
  • 5 Things I can’t travel without: “Photos – Sometimes I just need to see familiar faces and places. Kindle – Hundreds of stories to escape your surroundings. Slippers – Make me feel cozy and at home wherever I may be. Computer – My direct lifeline to all my homes. Starbucks Via – Sometimes I just want a big cup of joe.” Mandy Bible
  • 5 Things I can’t travel without: “(#1) I have an android cell phone with T-Mobile and because of that I can use the Wifi calling feature – which means when I’m on wifi I can use my phone just like I’m back home in Chicago. So I don’t get charged extra for being overseas, I get all of my texts and voicemails, make phone calls to take care of business back home, and most importantly I can call my family and they can call me. (#2) Lactase tablets. I am severely lactose i ntolerant but I love ice cream and chocolate, and sometimes at team mels there is nothing without lactose in it. But with lactase enzyme tablets I can still eat food with milk, cheese, and butter in it. So i bring about 500 tablets at a minimum to get me through until xmas, and then I restock while at home. (#3) A portable suitcase weigher is really nice to have because after living somewhere for several months you accumulate a lot of stuff. The fee for overweight luggage is very high so I like knowing if I have space for more or if I need to give away some stuff. (#4) I play several instruments and I write music so I always have to bring or scan my songbooks, and buying a guitar is one of the first purchases I make. (#5) My kindle. I love to read and with my kindle I can bring a whole bookshelf worth of books without the actual weight of it all in my suitcase. ” Simone Asque
  • 5 Things I can’t travel without: “Computer, iPod, Books, Necessary usa medical pills( vitamins, protein shakes, ibu profen,  i trust more usa products) always carry some cash(euro and dollars, just in case..” Donald Suxho
  • 5 Things I can’t travel without: “My iPod, a softball for rolling out, a collection of books to read, a camera, and a pair of Lululemon Wonder Unders that can be dressed up or down in case of emergency.” Tabi Love
  • Advice for a long season: “My advice for fueling myself and making it through a long season is to make sure I pack my favorite foods that I can only get in America such as protein powder.  I also pack a foam roll, epsom salt, and elastic bands so I can rehab whenever I can. I also suggest finding a hobby you like that will keep you busy during your down time (ex. I started knitting and journaling).” Lauren Gibbemeyer
  • 5 Things I can’t travel without: “my bath & body works lavender chamomile pillow spray, eye mask and ear plugs, beats headphones, my journal/planner, and my fluffy robe” Lauren Gibbemeyer
  • Advice for a long season: “The Naisten Liiga season is nice and long, so finding ways to sustain energy and maintain my health are crucial! When it comes to nutrition, I always try to carry around a water bottle to drink throughout the day, pack a few protein bars to eat between sessions, and make sure to get in lots of colorful fruits and veggies. “Family dinners” with teammates are also a fun, helpful way to make sure I’m eating full balanced meals and trying new things. As important as nutrition is to making it through the long season, it’s equally important to do an honest assessment of your physical health from time to time. As professional athletes, we always want to tough it out and play, but we can’t forget to listen to our bodies and use the resources available to us (whether that be trainers, PTs, masseuses, etc)! Foam rollers and massage sticks are also a VERY important resource (nothing else hurts so good!). ” Leigh Jakes
  • 5 Things I can’t travel without: “1) iPod, 2) Noise-cancelling headphones (crucial for long away trips & locker room pre-game), 3) Laptop/tablet (loaded with books, movies, etc), 4) Pictures of family & friends (to display a piece of home), and 5) Tie between my favorite pair of comfy sweats from college AND Lawry’s Seasoned Salt (Scan dinavian/Nordic cuisine can be a little bland at times)” Leigh Jakes
  • 5 Things I can’t travel without: “(1) iPod [not my iPhone but my iPod. I have songs from the first generation iPod on there. Nothing but classic hits playing.] (2) Colorful pen markers & plain paper for all of my lists, random thoughts, birthday cards and doodling. (3) My calendar [iPhone or my large desk version which I did pack in the bottom of my bag] (4) Photos of my family (5) Fresh honey roasted peanut butter or Trader Joe’s honey roasted peanuts.” Kayla Jeter
  • 5 Things I can’t travel without: “Kindle, Computer/iPad, Crossword Puzzles, Adapters, Camera” Sarah Pavan
  • I wish I knew: “That stocking up on favorite deodorants, hair products, snacks, etc. is a must.” Faime Kingesly
  • 5 Things I can’t travel without: “My iPod, a softball for rolling out, a collection of books to read, a camera, and a pair of Lululemon Wonder Unders that can be dressed up or down in case of emergency.” Colleen Ward 

 

Leave a Reply

Basic HTML is allowed. Your email address will not be published.

Subscribe to this comment feed via RSS

